> navigate:  


Sigma Xi

Sigma Xi is a scientific research society comprised of more than 500 chapters at universities and colleges, government laboratories, and industrial research centers. Its scientists and engineers, whose research spans the spectrum of science and technology, conduct symposia, seminars, forums, workshops and educational programs.  In addition, Sigma Xi publishes American Scientist monthly. Membership in Sigma Xi is open to scientists, faculty and non-faculty, and students who want to promote all aspects of science and technology.
The PCOM chapter of Sigma Xi holds quarterly meetings and sponsors a variety of research seminars to highlight ongoing research at PCOM and in the greater Delaware Valley. Our chapter gives a research award each spring for outstanding research at PCOM. Anyone who has done research and is interested should contact an officer to apply.
To join or to learn more, contact the current President, Brian Balin Ph.D. , or Secretary, Dawn Shell, Ph.D.  You may also contact the Sigma Xi website at http://www.sigmaxi.org

 Spring 2008

Annual Sigma Xi Student Research Award

Nominations for the Student Research Award will be solicited in February 2007

March 12, 2008

Research Forum
5:00 - 7:00; room 326 Evans

Faculty are invited to talk to students interested in research about research positions available in their laboratories

March 25, 2008

Bruno Bromke Memorial Lecture

Role of Secretory Granule Proteoglycans in Development and Activation of Blood Cells: Relevance to Blood Coagulation and Immune Response

Barbara Schick, Ph.D.
4:00; Ginsburg Auditorium

 May 16, 2008

Helig Symposium

Annual Student Poster Session
12:00-4:00; Evans Hall Mezzanine



Full Members:
Denah Appelt, Ph.D.
Brian Balin, Ph.D.
Marcus Bell, Ph.D.
Ruth Borghaei, Ph.D.
Farzaneh Daghigh, Ph.D.
Marina D'Angelo, Ph.D.
Camille DiLullo, Ph.D.
Kerin Fresa-Dillon, Ph.D.
Frederick J. Goldstein, Ph.D.
Charlotte H. Greene, Ph.D.
Susan Hingley, Ph.D.
Henry Hitner, Ph.D.
Michael Kuchera, D.O.
Tage Kvist, Ph.D.
Christopher Scott Little, Ph.D.
Michael McGuinness, Ph.D.
Peggy Stewart, Ph.D.
Ruth Thornton, Ph.D.
Mindy Weinstein, Ph.D.
Lindon Young, Ph.D.
Associate Members:
Andrew Bowe
Rich Brue
Christine Hammond
Kristen Kuratnick
Sean McMillan
Scott Roger
Victoria Scheinfeld
Greg Schochko
Jane Teng
Luisa Yi